• Celebrating excellence!

    The winners of the INTO 2019 Excellence Awards will be announced at a special ceremony at ICNT 2019 in Bermuda. Awards will be made in four categories: Open to All, Open House, Opening Minds, and Open for Business.

    Overall submissions were of a high quality and the Jury had in-depth discussions over the winners in each category, according to Catherine Leonard, INTO Secretary-General. The independent Jury members – Judy Cligman (Heritage Lottery Fund), Debbie Dance (Oxford Preservation Trust), Valerie Humphrey (Westminster Abbey Foundation), Kate Pugh (Cultural Protection Fund) and Jane Weeks (Consultant, formerly of British Council) – selected five winners.

    Catherine said: “The Awards celebrate the very best of our member organisations’ work around the world, often undertaken amid difficult circumstances and without seeking glory or acclaim but just trying to look after our global heritage for future generations. The Jury selected winners that will delight and inspire all those involved in heritage conservation, wherever they are in the world.”


    The four categories for awards are:

    • Open to All for success in enhancing community engagement across different cultures and increasing access to heritage, dialogue and understanding, and embracing the idea of ‘Forever, for everyone’.
    • Open House for creatively reimagine historic places to make heritage assets more accessible and relevant in today’s society.
    • Opening Minds for success in training, education or advocacy involving its employees, volunteers, community members or stakeholders to ensure the continued relevance of the organisation’s work.
    • Open for Business for innovative approaches to the business of running a heritage trust, such as increasing and maintaining memberships, fundraising or visitor services.


Translate »